Financial Services · Non-Banking Financial Company (Diversified Lending)
This company has since listed on the exchange. It is no longer an unlisted instrument, so Prospera does not quote a private-market indicative price for it. Its pre-listing quotes below are history, not a current level.
Indicative private-market reference — not an exchange quote. Not investment advice.
Two separate things, deliberately shown side by side: a sourced private-market price reference, and the depth of research that actually stands behind this company today.
Historical private-market information. This company now trades on the exchange — the figures below are pre-listing observations, not a current unlisted quote.
Prospera Indicative Price = latest sourced quote x 0.99. The underlying source quote is preserved unchanged and shown alongside.
Real, dated third-party observations only — plotted where they exist, never interpolated, extended or carried forward. This is a record of private-market sightings, not a live exchange chart.
Historical record. This company has since listed — these are pre-listing private-market quotes and not a current unlisted price.
| Date | Source price | Source | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 27 Aug 2026 | ₹376 | Screener.in (exchange closing price) | HIGH |
| 13 Oct 2025 | ₹330 | BSE/NSE listing-day opening price | HIGH |
| 8 Oct 2025 | ₹326 | Official IPO issue price (upper band) | HIGH |
| 31 Mar 2024 | ₹900–₹985 | Precize (unlisted-share platform) | MEDIUM |
| 1 Aug 2023 | ₹400–₹500 | Chittorgarh (grey-market dealer quotes) | LIMITED |
Assembled only from records that exist for this company. Anything not disclosed says so.
Tata Capital is a diversified NBFC offering consumer loans (personal, auto, home, education, consumer-durable), SME/commercial finance, wealth distribution, housing finance and clean-energy lending. It earns revenue primarily as net interest income on its loan book plus fee income.
Source: Tata Capital corporate site / Angel One IPO explainerTata Capital calls itself the 3rd-largest diversified NBFC in India by AUM (~Rs. 2.2 lakh crore, March 2025), competing with Bajaj Finance, Cholamandalam Investment & Finance, Shriram Finance and HDB Financial Services. It trades at a P/B (~4.1x) second only to Bajaj Finance among listed NBFC peers, despite a lower RoA (~1.9%) than the peer average (~3.0%).
Source: Tata Capital corporate site / Angel One IPO explainerTata Sons held ~88.6% pre-IPO; Tata Sons and IFC sold down via OFS in the IPO. Tata Motors Finance merged into Tata Capital in May 2025, leaving Tata Motors with ~4.7% of the combined entity.
Promoters & principal holders: Tata Sons Private Limited
Post-IPO, listed on BSE/NSE on 13 October 2025
Financials, implied valuation, peer comparison, the full Private Market Score and an analyst-authored view — every figure below is researched and sourced, none of it generated to fill the page.
Source: Screener.in.
Interesting, but valuation needs discipline
Documented, per-company risks — grouped by the categories the research itself recorded. There is no risk score here, because we do not compute one.
Tata Capital's P/B multiple (~4.1x) is the second-richest among listed diversified NBFC peers after Bajaj Finance, despite a lower RoA (~1.9%) than the peer average.
Source: Moneycontrol/TradingViewRoughly 21-24% of gross loans were unsecured across FY23-FY25, exposing the company to higher loss-given-default in a downturn.
Source: Business Standard DRHP risk-factor summaryGross Stage 3 (NPA) loans rose to 1.9% of total gross loans in FY25 from 1.5% in FY24, while provision coverage ratio declined to 58.5% in FY25 from 77.1% in FY23.
Source: Business Standard DRHP risk-factor summaryRoE declined from 21% (FY23) to 13% (FY25) even as the loan book and revenue scaled sharply following the Tata Motors Finance merger.
Source: Screener.inTata Sons remains an overwhelmingly dominant shareholder both before and after the IPO, and the company is closely intertwined with the wider Tata Group.
Source: UpstoxThe IPO was subscribed only ~1.95x overall and shares traded roughly flat — a markedly more muted debut than other 2025 financial-infrastructure IPOs like NSDL or HDB Financial.
Source: Business StandardDated, sourced events only — recorded as they were reported, in reverse order of significance to a private-market holder.
Tata Capital lists on BSE/NSE
Completed Tata Capital's transition to a public company after being an unlisted Tata Group NBFC for 18 years.
Source: CNBCTata Capital IPO opens (Rs. 15,511 crore issue, largest 2025 Indian IPO)
Raised the largest amount of any Indian IPO in 2025, testing investor appetite for the newly-merged, larger NBFC.
Source: Yahoo FinanceTata Capital files updated DRHP with SEBI
Formalised the IPO structure (fresh issue + OFS) ahead of listing.
Source: Business StandardNCLT sanctions merger of Tata Motors Finance into Tata Capital
Substantially scaled up Tata Capital's vehicle-financing book just before its IPO, roughly doubling reported consolidated revenue.
Source: India InfolineTata Capital classified as RBI 'Upper Layer' NBFC
Triggered a mandatory listing requirement under RBI's Scale-Based Regulation framework.
Source: UpstoxEvery figure on this page comes from one of the records below. Where a source published a link, it is here.
| Field | Source | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Financials (FY2025) | Screener.in | 27 Aug 2026 |
| Financials (FY2024) | Screener.in (Tata Sons' own FY24 annual report separately cites a different standalone-parent basis) | 27 Aug 2026 |
| Financials (FY2023) | Screener.in | 27 Aug 2026 |
| Price (27 Aug 2026) | Screener.in (exchange closing price) | 27 Aug 2026 |
| Price (13 Oct 2025) | BSE/NSE listing-day opening price | 13 Oct 2025 |
| Price (8 Oct 2025) | Official IPO issue price (upper band) | 8 Oct 2025 |
| Price (31 Mar 2024) | Precize (unlisted-share platform) | 31 Mar 2024 |
| Price (1 Aug 2023) | Chittorgarh (grey-market dealer quotes) | 1 Aug 2023 |
| Business Description | Tata Capital corporate site / Angel One IPO explainer | Not disclosed |
| Competitive Position | Tata Capital corporate site / Angel One IPO explainer | Not disclosed |
| Total Shares Outstanding (Cr) | Screener.in, derived from market capitalisation / share price | 27 Aug 2026 |
Every option below opens a conversation with a person at Prospera. Nothing here places, reserves or executes an order.
We will come back with the current dealable level, the available lot size and what the process actually involves. Indicative prices shown on this page are private-market references, not executable quotes.