Financial Services · Capital Markets Infrastructure / Depository Services
This company has since listed on the exchange. It is no longer an unlisted instrument, so Prospera does not quote a private-market indicative price for it. Its pre-listing quotes below are history, not a current level.
Indicative private-market reference — not an exchange quote. Not investment advice.
Two separate things, deliberately shown side by side: a sourced private-market price reference, and the depth of research that actually stands behind this company today.
Historical private-market information. This company now trades on the exchange — the figures below are pre-listing observations, not a current unlisted quote.
Prospera Indicative Price = latest sourced quote x 0.99. The underlying source quote is preserved unchanged and shown alongside.
Real, dated third-party observations only — plotted where they exist, never interpolated, extended or carried forward. This is a record of private-market sightings, not a live exchange chart.
Historical record. This company has since listed — these are pre-listing private-market quotes and not a current unlisted price.
| Date | Source price | Source | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 27 Aug 2026 | ₹818 | Screener.in (exchange closing price) | HIGH |
| 6 Aug 2025 | ₹880 | BSE/NSE listing-day opening price | HIGH |
| 1 Aug 2025 | ₹800 | Official IPO issue price | HIGH |
| 5 Jun 2025 | ₹1,200–₹1,225 | BusinessToday - unlisted shares rally amid IPO buzz | MEDIUM |
| 1 Apr 2025 | ₹800–₹850 | Dealer quotes reported by Business Standard | MEDIUM |
Assembled only from records that exist for this company. Anything not disclosed says so.
NSDL holds investors' securities (equities, bonds, mutual fund units) in dematerialised electronic form and enables their transfer and settlement. It earns revenue through annual custody and transaction fees charged to Depository Participants (banks and brokers), issuer fees for corporate actions, and services such as e-KYC, PAN and National Pension System record-keeping, with a growing contribution from its NSDL Payments Bank subsidiary.
Source: NSDL fee schedule / company disclosuresNSDL's only direct competitor is Central Depository Services Limited (CDSL). NSDL is larger by assets under custody (Rs. 423.44 lakh crore, ~86.83% market share as of March 2024) while CDSL has a far larger retail demat-account base and has historically commanded a 15-20% valuation premium over NSDL.
Source: NSDL fee schedule / company disclosuresNo single promoter after listing; pre-IPO, IDBI Bank held 26.10% and NSE held 24.00% (NSE described in coverage as the 'de facto promoter'); Union Bank of India, SBI, HDFC Bank and SUUTI were the other selling shareholders in the IPO offer-for-sale
Promoters & principal holders: IDBI Bank Limited, National Stock Exchange of India (NSE), Unit Trust of India (original 1996 sponsor; successor interest now held via SUUTI)
Post-IPO, listed on BSE and NSE on 6 August 2025
Financials, implied valuation, peer comparison, the full Private Market Score and an analyst-authored view — every figure below is researched and sourced, none of it generated to fill the page.
Source: NSDL FY25 results; Screener.in.
Interesting, but valuation needs discipline
Documented, per-company risks — grouped by the categories the research itself recorded. There is no risk score here, because we do not compute one.
Subsidiaries NSDL Database Management Ltd and NSDL Payments Bank Ltd sit under separate regulatory regimes; adverse action at a subsidiary could affect NSDL's consolidated results.
Source: DRHP risk-factor summaryNSDL has historically traded, and continues to trade, at a 15-20% valuation discount to CDSL despite larger assets under custody.
Source: Business Standard / IndMoneyNSDL depends on its network of Depository Participants for reach rather than direct retail relationships, and faces a much larger, faster-growing retail demat-account base at rival CDSL.
Source: IndMoneyNSE (24%, described as 'de facto promoter') and IDBI Bank (26.10%) were both large pre-IPO shareholders that sold down via the OFS, dispersing the ownership base as the company transitions to public markets.
Source: Business StandardNSDL operates in a tightly SEBI-regulated environment with limited fee-pricing flexibility, and its DRHP risk factors reference past account-related regulatory scrutiny.
Source: Business Standard DRHP risk summaryPost-listing price has been highly volatile — up as much as ~78% within days of listing before falling back to roughly the Rs. 800 issue price about a year later.
Source: Screener.inDated, sourced events only — recorded as they were reported, in reverse order of significance to a private-market holder.
NSDL Q1 FY26 results: PAT up 24% to ~Rs. 82-83 crore
First quarterly results reported as a listed company, with demat market share rising to 15.5%.
Source: Business StandardNSDL lists on BSE and NSE
Completed NSDL's transition from a decades-long, closely-watched unlisted stock to a publicly traded company.
Source: PL India / Business StandardNSDL sets IPO price band at Rs. 760-800
Set the final valuation range (~Rs. 16,000 crore at the top end) ahead of subscription opening.
Source: Business StandardNSDL FY25 results: PAT up 24.6% to Rs. 343 crore
Confirmed strong pre-listing profitability momentum used to justify the IPO valuation.
Source: Business StandardSEBI grants in-principle approval for NSDL IPO
Cleared the key regulatory hurdle, starting a 12-month validity clock to launch the IPO.
Source: Business StandardNSDL files DRHP with SEBI
First formal disclosure of NSDL's financials and the offer-for-sale structure ahead of its long-awaited IPO.
Source: Business StandardEvery figure on this page comes from one of the records below. Where a source published a link, it is here.
| Field | Source | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Financials (FY2025) | NSDL FY25 results; Screener.in | 25 May 2025 |
| Financials (FY2024) | NSDL DRHP restated consolidated financials; Screener.in | 1 Sept 2024 |
| Financials (FY2023) | NSDL DRHP restated consolidated financials; Screener.in | 8 Jul 2025 |
| Price (27 Aug 2026) | Screener.in (exchange closing price) | 27 Aug 2026 |
| Price (6 Aug 2025) | BSE/NSE listing-day opening price | 6 Aug 2025 |
| Price (1 Aug 2025) | Official IPO issue price | 1 Aug 2025 |
| Price (5 Jun 2025) | BusinessToday - unlisted shares rally amid IPO buzz | 5 Jun 2025 |
| Price (1 Apr 2025) | Dealer quotes reported by Business Standard | 1 Apr 2025 |
| Business Description | NSDL fee schedule / company disclosures | Not disclosed |
| Competitive Position | NSDL fee schedule / company disclosures | Not disclosed |
| Total Shares Outstanding (Cr) | Derived from IPO market capitalisation (Rs. 16,000 crore at the Rs. 800 upper-band issue price) | 30 Jul 2025 |
Every option below opens a conversation with a person at Prospera. Nothing here places, reserves or executes an order.
We will come back with the current dealable level, the available lot size and what the process actually involves. Indicative prices shown on this page are private-market references, not executable quotes.